



MEDIA RELEASE

ABORIGINAL COMMUNITY CHAMPIONS SOUGHT FOR WA'S HIGHEST AWARDS

The nominations for the 2017 Western Australian of the Year Awards are now open with nominations sought from within Aboriginal communities for these prestigious honours.

Members of Aboriginal communities are asked to recommend worthy recipients of the specific Aboriginal Award category, as well as individuals who have achievements within the six other categories of: Arts & Culture, Business, Community, Professions, Sport and Youth.

The category winners will be announced on the evening of Friday 2nd June 2017 at the start of the WA Day weekend, with the overall Western Australian of the Year to be selected from these seven winners.

Aboriginal nominees have a strong track record of success in the Awards, including two of the past five Western Australians of the Year - Dr Robert Isaacs AM JP in 2015 and Professor Kim Scott in 2012. The previous Aboriginal Award winners and all other winners can be viewed at http://waday.com/western-australian-of-the-year-awards/hall-of-fame/.

The simple online nomination process at www.waday.com should only take 5 - 10 minutes to complete and requires the category their nominee best represents; a brief summary of why they are deserving of the Award; and an outline of their contribution to the community.

Celebrate WA is looking for nominations of Aboriginal people who have been champions of their community and played significant roles either locally, or throughout Western Australia. Nominees do not need to be high profile individuals as the Awards seek to recognise contributions at all levels of the community.

Celebrate WA Honorary Board Member Dr Robert Isaacs AM JP is a Noongar Elder who has dedicated his life to improving the lives of Aboriginal Australians. Dr Isaacs received the 2015 Aboriginal Award and the overall Western Australian of the Year Award in acknowledgement of his achievements.

"Being named Western Australian of the Year is an honour I hold dear to my heart because it comes from the people who I have worked alongside all my life, the people of this state," said Dr Isaacs.

"I encourage everyone to nominate a person who has made a real difference to their community."

Anyone can make a nomination for the Western Australian of the Year Awards between 20th November 2016 and 31st January 2017.

MAJOR SUPPORTERS











If you have any questions about the Awards or the nomination process please contact Celebrate WA on 08 9324 5000 or celebratewa.com.au

Media contacts

Clarity Communications Anthony Hasluck – 0438 522 194 Beth Bolt – 0488 571 823

About Celebrate WA

Celebrate WA is a not-for-profit organisation responsible for promoting and organising the annual WA Day celebrations; promoting excellence and achievement by Western Australians in all fields of endeavour; and encouraging pride in all things Western Australian.





