

MEDIA RELEASE

SHINE A LIGHT ON AN EXCEPTIONAL WEST AUSTRALIAN IN YOUR COMMUNITY

9 February 2015

Celebrate WA is calling on the community to shine a light on exceptional West Australians, as nominations for the Western Australian of the Year draw to a close. The awards rely on the people of WA to nominate others whose commitment and achievements have made significant contributions to the state, nation and internationally, from areas such as business and sport to arts and culture.

Now in its 42nd year, the Awards recognise the highest level of contribution made to Western Australia by those who were born in or choose to call the State home.

Nominations can be submitted in seven categories, with the overall Western Australian of the Year selected from the winners of the individual categories.

- Aboriginal Award, sponsored by Wesfarmers
- Arts and Culture Award, sponsored by Woodside
- · Business Award, sponsored by Telstra
- Community Award, sponsored by Alcoa
- Professions Award, sponsored by St John of God Health Care
- Sport Award, sponsored by Hardy Brothers Jewellers
- Youth Award, sponsored by BHP Billiton

Leading business figure and philanthropist Mr David Flanagan was named Western Australian of the Year in 2014, followed by respected author and researcher Professor Bruce Robinson AM in 2013.

Nominations are free and can be submitted online at www.celebratewa.com.au. Nominations close at 5pm Friday 27 March, 2015.

Until 2011, the Awards were known as the WA Citizen of the Year Awards. A long list of respected individuals forms the alumni including: Professor Fiona Stanley AC, Michael Chaney AO, The Hon Chief Justice Wayne Martin AC QC, Ian Trust and George Jones AM.

Celebrate WA Chairman, Mr Wayne Zekulich said the Awards recognised the contributions of West Australians.

"The Awards provide a wonderful opportunity each year to shine a light on the incredible



talent of West Australians and the projects they are involved in, right across the State.

"As we look towards the WA Day long weekend in 2015, we encourage all West Australians to nominate those in the community who are making a difference.

"From arts and culture to business and sport, we're seeking nominations across seven categories to acknowledge the incredible contribution and commitment of these individuals," he said

Winner of the 2014 Western Australian of the Year Award, Mr David Flanagan said it had been a rewarding experience.

"It's humbling to be joining the ranks of such a respected and talented alumni.

"The award has given me a tremendous opportunity to be a spokesperson for a place that I'm incredibly proud of, and pleased to call home.

"I encourage everyone to take a moment to nominate someone who deserves to be recognised, it's a great opportunity to acknowledge their hard work," he said.

This year's award winners will be announced on the eve of the WA Day long weekend, Friday 29 May 2015, at a gala ceremony hosted by not-for-profit organisation Celebrate WA, who are also responsible for promoting and organising the annual WA Day celebrations.

Finalists from each category will join a host of government, media, entertainment and community personalities for a fabulous night of fun and festivity.

- Ends -

Media Contact:

Amy Sassella-Otley Clarity Communications M: 0400 657 117

Information on Celebrate WA

As the State's premier leadership organisation, Celebrate WA champions all that is positive about Western Australia and its people. It seeks to engage West Australians in a range of celebratory activities that promote and recognise excellence in our people, lifestyle, culture and potential.

Celebrate WA's Major Supporters include BHP Billiton, the State Government, and Lotterywest. A range of corporate partners including, Hawaiian and Crown Perth also provide invaluable support.

MAJOR SUPPORTERS





